Feminism. Equality.

I’ve recently had a conversation with some of my classmates about feminism.

I am very passionate about how I, as a female, should have the same, equal opportunities as men. Now this “debate” sparked from me being told that girls only wanted equality when it suited them. This comment annoyed me simply because I don’t agree. I want equality in all cases. Another flippant comment was made about how if it was the other way around women wouldn’t care. I disagree. I would fight for mens right just as I do my own. I want equality even if some of the results aren’t in my best interests.

Lots of men don’t seem to understand how tough many of the women of this world have it, even in this day and age. If I’m being honest, I think many women who don’t have it quite as tough don’t understand either. I’m in quite a lucky position to live where I do, though I still encounter every day sexism.

Even if I so much as voice an opinion that my male classmates disagree with some of them would tell me to, “Go back to the kitchen” or “Shut up and get cleaning” These remarks truly disgust me and their blatantly sexist attitudes like how cooking is a women’s job, to which I argued that there are many male chefs in this world, but thats different because they get paid. Yes, they do. Probably more than many of the women chefs in this world, do you see my point? No. They don’t.

Women and girls have had to and still have to fight for everything they have. Many men would do well to show that some respect. If they are there to help me in my equality battles, I’ll be there for theirs.

Feminism, by definition, is the advocacy of women’s rights on the ground of the equality of the sexes. Before you argue that women only care about women. Think about that please.

Let me know your views. I’m interested.

~Here’s to strong women. May we know them. May we be them. May we raise them.

Love, Carly X

Disclaimer: I am not of the opinion that all men are sexist and women are not, I am very well aware this isn’t the case and appreciate all of the amazing men in this world that support women and all the amazing women who support men. I should add that I am not very well educated on this subject although I try to be aware of the goings on in the world. If I’ve gotten anything wrong, be nice. Teach me what is right. Let me learn. Thank you X

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Feminism. Equality.

Leave a Reply

