Happy 1st Birthday Little Man!

My cousin’s 1st birthday was today. This is my letter to him.

Hello little one,

Happy Birthday!

I’m not a wise person who’s experienced the world, I’ll give you that. Instead I’m your teenage cousin. I make mistakes, and I fail to learn from them. I mess up and I fall down and I’m not perfect. I argue with my parents and my friends and the people I love. I get hurt and I hate to say this but so will you little guy.

Life isn’t all sunshine and lollipops. It’s hard. There will be times when you feel like it’s not worth it. You will break and you will feel so much pain. Maybe I’m classed as unqualified to tell you this. After all I’m “just a teenager, what do I know?” I’ll tell you something for nothing. I know a lot. The trick my lovely is to just keep getting back up. It is worth it. The good will forever cancel out the bad.

Advice: Don’t think too much, but remember to think enough.

Say please and thank you. Hold the doors open for those behind you. Smile at strangers. Smile at friends. Tell your mum and dad you love them. Tell your brother and your sisters that you love them. Laugh. Just laugh. Be the beauty in an ugly world.

Above all, Be you. Don’t live in anybody else’s shadow. For you are the only you.

I love you little man.

Love, Carly X

Leave a Reply

